The Law of Difference

The Law of Difference
Friday 03-22-13
Church By Phone

Notes

Make my time count

Reference to: Seeds of Wisdom Topical Bible

Every day a two-minute talk via podcast, ready starting next week, 14 titles/categories

Dr. Mike’s goal is a book a week
>> ultimate goal: 1001 books >> MikeMurdockBooks.com

Some goals are years in the making.

Some car companies design cars 20-30 years in advance

Years ago, companies in Japan had 100 yr goals, now they have 300 yr goals

600 yrs before Jesus, Isaiah prophesied His coming
God has goals many years ahead of time

I should [also] have some short-term goals like:
What do I want to accomplish today?
What do I want to know today?

So tonight, we’re focusing on:

The Law of Difference

Until you discover your difference from others, you’ll misinterpret your life.

Your difference decides your success.
Your similarity decides your comfort.

But your difference from others decides your success and how God will use you.

The smallest change can create a radical reward:
You don’t have to change the map, just “turn right” instead of “left”,
and you’ve got a whole different world.

Holy Spirt, I am addicted to Your voice. I’ll never grasp why You’ve given me access to You. I’m so much the lesser. And when the Greater pursues the lesser, it is fascinating and intriguing to me. Many of us need to know our assignment. Some of us are struggling against the forces of unbelief and doubt–about our finances, our business, where we’ll work, how we’ll pay our bills. And You understand that. Thank You.
The Gospel has two parts:
1) The Person of Jesus, that creates my peace
2) The Principles of Jesus, that creates my prosperity

Dr Murdock, every Sunday morning (because of a covenant with God and Psalms 112), plants a prosperity seed of $112. It has unleashed profound waves of revelation and insight to him. In Psalms 112, the Bible says that a man who honors the laws of God will create wealth and riches in his house.

Dr. Murdock has a plaque that includes these verses
” By wisdom a house is built, and by understanding it is established;
By knowledge the rooms are filled with all precious and pleasant riches. ”
(Proverbs 24:3-4 NKJV)

No thinking man limits wealth to money he has in his pocket.

Wealth is when you have a lot of something you need
A lot of something you love
A lot of something that’s necessary

Favor is wealth
Love is wealth
Loving family is wealth

The Laws of God are the secret to living

The Bible says there’s a difference between holy and unholy
Between clean and unclean
Between saved and rebellion
There’s a difference between obedience and rebellion

” ‘If you are willing and obedient, You shall eat the good of the land;
But if you refuse and rebel, You shall be devoured by the sword’; For the mouth of the Lord has spoken. ”
(Isaiah 1:19-20 NKJV)

Deuteronomy 28, the first 14 verses talk about the difference that obeying the Laws of God makes
There is a difference

There’s a difference between right and wrong
Between Islam and Christianity
Between a sinner and a believer
Between male and female
There’s a difference between integrity and deception

What is wisdom?
The ability to recognize difference.
Difference in people.
Difference in a moment.
Your difference from others.
Their difference from you.

Some people are ashamed of their difference.
I am not ashamed of the Cross.

There’s over a Billion atheists and secular humanists on the earth
There’s 2.1 Billion believers in Christianity

Look for difference in every environment
ex: The difference in a funeral environment where we celebrate the Home-going of a believer.

Until you can recognize difference you cannot recognize wisdom
Because wisdom is the ability to recognize difference
Honor is the willingness to reward someone for their difference

I’m not ashamed of that difference
I’m thankful for that difference

I believe in Divine healing

There’s a difference in a blind man before and after he’s been touched by the hands of Jesus

There’s a difference in a resurrected Christ and a dead Mohammed

There’s a difference in the presence of God and His absence

5 Differences That Are Vital For Me To Discern

1. What’s the difference in the environment?
> there’s a place where I can speak and there’s a place where I cannot.
> there’s a place where I’m welcome and a place where I’m not
” And when you go into a household, greet it. If the household is worthy, let your peace come upon it. But if it is not worthy, let your peace return to you. (Matthew 10:12-13 NKJV)
When they honor you, stay there
When they don’t honor you, take you honor, pick it up and leave that environment

I don’t belong everywhere

Where ever I’m not the authority…I’m not the authority.

There’s a difference in the scriptural role of people in that environment

ex: in every home the child is not the authority in that environment

There’s a difference in the authority between husband and wife
The Bible compares the authority relationship between the husband and wife to that
between Christ and the church.
Do Christ & the church have the same authority?
Of course not. That’s ludicrous.

Everything hinges on the Word of God.

Did the Bible say that Jesus and the bride (the church) have the same authority?
Of course not.

The responsibilities are different

So in every environment, in the home–what’s the authority structure?
Is it Scriptural?
Is it in place?

Remember: pain is the proof of disorder
Disorder is the opposite of order.
Order is the accurate arrangement of things.
Disorder is the unscriptural arrangement of things.

There’s a difference in my assignment

2. What is the difference in my assignment?
If God has given me an assignment, it’s different from others’.
The difference is shown by my giftings, by my opportunities,
by my courage, by my passion, and by my desire to become.

Listen for difference and honor.

Who does the wife honor?
Who does your husband honor?
Who do the kids honor?

Honor is rarely discerned.
It’s taught.
Samuel had to be taught of The Lord, to put honor on Hannah the mother, and Eli the high priest.
The disciples had to be taught honor.
Remember?

Who taught me honor?
Were they effective?
Were they right?

Remember when Jesus taught Peter about honor through washing feet?

3. There’s a difference in purpose
My watch has a different purpose from my eyeglasses.
Listen and look for difference everywhere.

Across the world, there are differences in customs.

Dr. David Sumerall, nephew of Dr. Lester Sumerall
Manila, Philippines.

If Dr. Murdock could choose a nationality, he’d (probably) want the nature of a Filpino.
The Filipino culture is incredibly gracious, remarkably honoring, gentle, deferential.

see, Manny Pacquio (future Filipino President…?)

Listen for the sound of honor.

There’s a difference in people.

There’s a difference in culture.

Difference.

It should become distinct to us.

Some differences matter more.
Some differences matter less.

We celebrate, we honor the Divine gift of difference.

Difference is a gift.

What makes me unlike others?
What is the Divine gifting God has placed inside of me?

An aggressive passionate person is different from a gentle, contemplative personality.

The Wisdom Center is deciding on their 7 interns, and Dr. Murdock is looking at and listening for their difference.

Dating is a wonderful way to discover information before commitment.

Information before a decision.

Why do singles date?

To meet with intentions.
Dating is exploring for a lifetime investment.
On a date, you’re looking for difference.

Should I react to difference?
– – > Not instantly.

Discerning is for decision-making, not discussion.
– – > The Apostle Paul had a demon-possessed woman follow him for many days.
She praised Paul and followed him around to associate with him for her own credibility.
Many people will do that–try to associate with someone
to access the other person’s credibility for their own gain.
Paul didn’t react instantly to her difference (he later cast out the demons).

Remember: not all difference discerned should be discussed with everyone.

If you confront a liar, he becomes more shrewd, more skilled at lying.
Instead, identify the liar, but don’t (always) respond publicly to them.

Do others respect my difference?
Who treasures my difference?
Who values my difference?

Who discusses my difference?
Who protects my difference?
Who pursues me for my difference?

Identify my great 3 differences from others
Identify my God-given difference
And treasure what God has put in others.

Father, thank You for these moments…I will not only discover my difference–what I’m willing to spend time on–but I will treasure that difference. Father, may I never waste time trying to teach a dog to “neigh” and a horse to “bark”. Let me recognize the difference in people and honor it and value it and never ever take them out of the center of their assignment. In Jesus’s Name, Amen.
Button 8 on http://wisdomonline.com to sow if you appreciate Church By Phone.
Ask for the Church By Phone call recording from the previous night.

1-866-874-8674 – – > Church By Phone sowing #

DrMike@ChurchByPhone.com

Questions

What do I want to accomplish today?
What do I want to know today?

What is wisdom?

What’s the difference in the environment?

So in every environment, in the home–what’s the authority structure?
Is it Scriptural?
Is it in place?

Who does the wife honor?
Who does your husband honor?
Who do the kids honor?

Who taught me honor?
Were they effective?
Were they right?

Remember when Jesus taught Peter about honor through washing feet?

What is the difference in my assignment?

What makes me unlike others?
What is the Divine gifting God has placed inside of me?

Do others respect my difference?
Who treasures my difference?
Who values my difference?

Who discusses my difference?
Who protects my difference?
Who pursues me for my difference?

Leave a Reply

