The Law of Focus

The Law of Focus
Thursday 03-28-13
Church By Phone

notes

Focus is where we fail or where succeed.

The first thing God told Adam, was that He warned him about a tree in the Garden that would break his focus.

Some of us say, God: Why did You even tell him?
Maybe he wouldn’t have even found it…?
But the Law of Mercy always warns us.

Paul said, “…this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before…I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:13-14 KJV)

“Mine eye affecteth mine heart…” (Lamentations 3:51 KJV)
“I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes…” (Psalms 101:3 KJV)

“Don’t get off track, either left or right, so as to make sure you get where you’re going…” (Joshua 1:7 MSG)

Nicodemus, only seeing the present world, his attention was turned.

Thousands of years after Lot’s wife died, having turned into a pillar of salt, Jesus said to “Remember Lot’s wife.” (Luke 17:32)

The angel had instructed her not to look back.

The only reason men fail is broken focus.

Where should I be focused?
Focus is more than just a word.
ex: Driving while on a cell phone and/or texting can lead to a car accident.
ex: A mother leaning back into the backseat to do
something with her child, and having a fatal car accident.

We see the damage of broken focus in every part of our society.

Focus is very important.
It’s important to your health.
It’s important to stay safe.
Focus is a necessity.

Focus is an important part of my life equation.

Satan does everything he can to break my focus.

Focus on the Secret Place.

God is not a waste of my time.

Decisions Decide Wealth

107 total decisions that the Holy Spirit told Dr.
Murdock when he spent those 4 months resting,
after his blood-pressure-related excessive bleeding
incident on a plane in the Toronto airport. Dr.
Murdock decided to cancel all preaching
engagements for 4 months and focus on
spending time with the Holy Spirit. It was
during this period that the Holy Spirit told
Dr. Murdock these 3 words: “Decisions
decide wealth
.”

One of these decisions (that will affect my finances, by the way) is:

To make the decision to ignore human flaws and weaknesses and instead to search for and extract the Divine hidden deposit of gold within them.

Meditation and conversation magnify any thought.

If I talk about something, it makes it bigger.
If I think about and imagine something, it gets bigger.

Dr. Murdock has often said, “My mind is the resizing room.”
Where God allows my imagination to resize a good thing or a bad thing.

In marriage, when you’re in courtship, in dating,
you’re so thrilled about their uniqueness, their giftings.

Then when you get married, you want that person
to be responsive to you and they just look at you.

Now when you were dating you loved the fact that they received conversation from you. That they listened well. But then after marriage, you suddenly begin to look at this person and say, Why are you so quiet? I need a reaction, I need a response.

[Review questions from a few nights before]:
How do I communicate discomfort?
How do I communicate caring?
How do I communicate passion?
How do I communicate an idea?
How do I communicate disappointment?

Learning how to communicate –and different people
communicate different ways, and one will cry, the other gets angry.

ex: two different women can be mad about something,
and one woman uses derisive sarcasm, while the other
one cries, and says, “Baby, you’ve hurt me…!”
Two different styles of communication.

Oftentimes, in marriage, your focus gets broken off their difference, their greatness, their uniqueness, every good thing they’ve ever done, and all you see is that thing that turns you off.

Philippians 4:8 (KJV)

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

How will we ever get around to correcting certain things ?
Well, you won’t, but Ecclesiastes says “there’s a time.”
There’s a time to go over many things, and there’s a time to focus on one thing.

Are you able to shut wrong things out, in order to focus on the good things and recapture joy?

Are you able to focus on a problem, and eliminate everything else in your life, and just focus on that problem until answers and questions come together?

Focus is everything in athletics.

In basketball, your opponent may try “trash talking”
to you in a way that’s designed to break your focus.

Focus will be the reason you succeed.
Broken focus will be the reason you fail.

Focus will decide where you excel.
Broken focus will be at the source of pain in your life.

What are some things that qualify for your total focus?
note: total focus, meaning for a season, for a time
ex: you may wish to memorize the Bible, but doing it while you’re driving is not the time to do it
Again, “total focus” not meaning to focus your entire life/day on one little thing. There’s too much to do: taxes, car to vacuum/wash, there’s a banker or doctor thar you’ve got to meet with, etc.

One of the things to qualify your focus is:

– What is my time with the Holy Spirit going to produce for me?
>> I need to have a “Secret Place”, designated to meet with the Holy Spirit, and spend time with him in
> Start with the first 7 minutes of every day, devoted to meet with the Holy Spirit
> If I have a place for my car (the garage) then why wouldn’t I (first) also have a place to meet with the Holy Spirit?
>> When I come into the Presence of the Holy Spirit, come in singing:

Psalms 101:1-2 (NKJV)

I will sing of mercy and justice; to You, O Lord, I will sing praises. I will behave wisely in a perfect way. Oh, when will You come to me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.

> God expects an environment of worship and music
> Music is very important to God
>> I totally focus those moments on worshipping Him, singing to Him, putting everything to the side:

Hebrews 12:1 (NKJV)

Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us….

>> Don’t wait for a “free day”, or an hour or a big chunk of time to get into the Presence of the Holy Spirit
> you’ll never do it, if you’re waiting for free time
> Just like writing a book: you’ll never get around to writing a book if you’re waiting for the time to do it before you start
[Just start doing it: the unnecessary will get pushed out, and the necessary will push it’s way into your day–don’t worry about not having enough time]
>> What do you want from those 7 minutes?
>> Focus on hearing His voice, speaking His Word

*** The secret to life is hidden in a successful day, and repeating that day ***

>> The secret to a day is routine
> Knowing when you’re getting up
> Knowing when you’re going to bed
> Knowing what you’ll do first, second, etc
> Routine controls the entire world
> Even people who are creative have a routine
ex: Thomas Edison said, My difference from other men is simple: other men think of many things all day long, but I only think of one thing.
ex: Benjamin Franklin picked out 13 virtues that he wanted to develop. He’d work on 1 for 7 days, do the next one for 7 days
>> These men understood the importance of establishing a routine.

So I establish where I want to be.
I establish what I want to do.
>> That’s the power of focus.

There’s so many times in our Christian life, in our
walk with God, that satan has disrupted our focus.

It doesn’t mean that you have to pray in tongues for 24 hours.
Just set aside time and focus on Him through something
you say, or through something you do.

aside: the purpose of technology is to process information in the shortest amount of time
> to process information to others, and to receive their information in seconds, rather than within hours–that’s why it’s so important
ex: Dr. Murdock uses a voice recorder to play back self-talk to himself–to record his voice and then play it back to him.
>> Dr. Murdock did a talk on order: about how important it is to excel in order; to excel in minutes; to excel in moments; to excel in the present moment

Excel in Excellence

Where Do I want to excel in excellence?

I can use technology (assuming I’m not a liar, and I trust my own voice) to record positive self-talk

I can use it to record audio of things that’ll help me keep my focus

God gave us a mouth to conquer our mind
If you can conquer your mind you can conquer your life

God gave us conversation to control imagination

Our imagination has no track–it’s an open field

There’s a time for haste, and there’s a time to stop, and slow down until you have all the facts & information

You can conquer your mind if you can manage your focus

You must learn how to talk to yourself to protect your focus:
>> Mark Muntain (along with Morris Plotts to Kenya & Tanzania, was one of the greatest missionaries ever, and he was assigned to India, who, though he had a hospital to run with thousands of people depending on him, would often say, “Thank You, Father. We love You. God give me Calcutta–Oh, God give me Calcutta!”

Focus is the way you get things finished, completed.

What is the one thing God’s told me to do with my life?

Ways to Maintain Focus
Review – Keep a master list of To Do’s in one place (Dr. Murdock uses an app called “2Do”). Keeping it all in one place will help you accurately assess your workload.
>> without having your tasks in one place, you may get to the important things last, or never at all
>> Never trust your mind with a task. Your mind is the most tragic place to store a task, a “to do”. Your mind is for creativity, not for memory.
>> Write it down. Writing it down will increase your memory.
> Researchers say, if you write down a task, you’ll increase the chances of doing it by 90 times(!)
>> Schedule an “end” to your tasks. If you don’t schedule an end, you’ll never taste the pleasure of a finisher.
> When you schedule an appointment, don’t say, I’ll meet you @ 2pm.
>> Say, “I’ll meet you from 2pm to 2:20pm.
> There has to be an exit.
ex: God even designed an exit for your body.
ex: Every house needs a back door.
ex: Every car needs an extra door. Why? You need an exit.

Look at all the things you need to do, then prioritize them:
>>What’s A? What’s B? What’s C, D, E, F? And so on.

I choose my focus. Then I protect that focus.

I never do something someone else is capable of doing, if I can get out of it.
I want someone else to do the things that they can do, because they cannot do what I alone can do.
ex: I’d never make a phone call to somebody if someone else can call that person for me.

Distribute tasks to others.

Focus is a learned art, a learned skill.

You focus when you know there is a time for everything.
Ecclesiastes.
There is a time, and there is a place.

Jackie Brown was a wonderful teacher on presentation and personal appearance.
She said, “Ladies, don’t be putting on makeup and fussing over yourself all day. Don’t leave your bedroom until your hair is in place. Get yourself the best that you can get and then walk out and forget about it.”
She said, “Focus on your appearance before you leave your bedroom for the day. Get your mind in order. Get your hair in order. Get your lipstick in order. Get your earrings on, and ask yourself, ‘Am I OK. Am I alright?’ Then when you meet people, you’re mind’s not on yourself. You can focus on them.”

So what are some things that I should focus on?
Well, it’s according to the scenario, the event…
ex: If you’re going out to eat, you focus on enjoying the people.
> You don’t sit there with a pen and pad and write down things you’ve gotta do that day, when you’re talking to everybody around you. You focus. You focus.

And there’s a place for everything.

Dr. Murdock is working right now with “order “.
note: Dr. Murdock loves magazines. “You have billion-dollar corporations selling me their ideas for $5, $7. You can’t beat a magazine for entertainment, information, ideas…. So I don’t like to throw out a magazine until I’ve gone through it and tore out (or take pictures of) all of the [good, striking] ideas. I get my money’s worth…!” 🙂

There is a time and a place for things.
There is a quickening of the Holy Spirit.
Don’t ignore the times and the seasons of God.

Don’t ignore the times and the seasons of God.

Determine whether the focus comes from the Holy Spirit, or from a distraction…?

What would be the result if I give myself totally to this focus?
What would be the possible return?

Ask the Holy Spirit: where do You want me to focus?

What’s the most important thing to your focus?
Your mind, your mind. Talk to yourself about your focus.

Do you know how to talk yourself into a proper focus?

Some things are obvious.

Everybody is clamoring for your focus.

The ability to focus is cultivated.

You develop it as you realize the wisdom of the situation.
Wisdom is the ability to recognize difference–difference in value.

Choose the focus that God has put in front of you to do, what He’s called you to do.

You’ll never lose as friend over choosing your focus, you’ll only lose an imposter.

All thru your life, you’re going to have people try
and change your perception of what matters most.

That may be their focus, but more likely: they have time to criticize, but not time to help.

Others’ understanding of what’s valuable to you is often different than your own.

*** We teach people through what we permit ***

Teach your family to respect your chosen focus.

Then when you’re meeting with your family, abandon
yourself to your family so that they can have all of you.

Qualify people for your focus.

Who do I qualify?

There’s a lot of fascinating people on this earth.

Only the unknown people are the boring people.

God is an uncommon God, and He makes uncommon people.

The reason we lose focus, or don’t tend to our focus is
because we don’t like the burden of turning down others,
of choosing others.

We don’t like the burden of rejecting a task or something good.
We hate turning down a possible opportunity.

We, the partners of Dr. Murdock’s ministry, are going
to receive every month a daily devotional that will be
30, 31 days of something to focus on for that day. 🙂

Don’t even try to please everybody.

Billy Cosby said, “I don’t know the secret of happiness,
but I do know the secret of unhappiness: trying to please everybody.”

Dr. Murdock tries to get 10 significant things done every day.

Health should be one of your prominent focuses.

Nobody else is going to focus on your health.

You’re the only one that knows what should matter most in your life.

– Take time out to visit with the Holy Spirit
– Focus on your health, what you should eat, what you should do [exercise, etc]

For focus I have to be diligent, decisive, militant–I have to be ruthless.

My health has to be my focus because nobody else cares.

I’m very, very replaceable:
> The day that I die, after I’m buried, everybody
is going to go to KFC and be laughing at old jokes at
KFC, having a good time–life is going to go on.

Nobody is going to take care of me.
Nobody is going to watch out for me.

Make my health my focus.

And everybody that’s asking me for money?
They’ve got plenty more people to ask.
And they may be mad at me because I didn’t pay em.

God never intended me to ignore my personal needs for the sake of others.

Don’t ever forget to focus on myself.

The happiest me is the best gift I can give someone else .

Don’t you dare buy something for your kids
when you could’ve bought something for yourself.

Invest something into myself.
Invest time.
What do I love?

The people that live the longest are the people that take care of themselves.

Dr. Murdock’s Dad used to take the longest time to get dressed.
He was meticulous and methodical. He took care of himself.
[He’s 96 years old now].

Don’t you ever get so “super-spiritual” that you
think God is nervous that you haven’t woken up yet today. 😉

Don’t ever think that someone else won’t make it because you’re not there.

I need to focus on my joy, focus on my health.
Focus on my life.
Take some time.
Take some time for me.

If Jesus thought we were worth the cross, surely I’m worth a high-priced perfume/cologne.

Surely I can do something for me.

Taking time for me is never wasted time.

In all of your getting, get understanding (about your importance).

If God has all of the hairs on my head numbered,
then I need to live my life, to live a life that’s focused–
focused!–excellence in my own life.

Take care of me before I focus on everybody else.

Take care of yourself.

April the 9th Dr. Murdock takes off to Nigeria.

This coming Monday he’s flying over to South Bend,
Indiana (maybe Little Rock, Arkansas on the way…)

Dr. Murdock is supposed to be back home from Nigeria
on his birthday and then will fly back to (South) Africa.

Dr. Murdock needs help for his trip to Nigeria.

To sow: 866-874-8674
>> or: Button 8 on the website, look for “Church by Phone Seed”

[closing prayer]
Lord, I thank You for this evening. I ask You to give every partner a seed to sow for Nigeria–regardless of the size, let us have a seed to sow into one of the greatest nations on this earth. Some of the greatest people, the greatest Pastors are in Nigeria. Lord we stand together. We are thankful people. You have given us seed to sow, in a nation where people are struggling, we believe in miracles. We believe in harvests. And God will leave no man unrewarded. Thank You, Father. In Jesus’s Name. Amen.
[/end closing prayer]

Questions:

Where should I be focused?

[Review questions from a few nights before]:
How do I communicate discomfort?
How do I communicate caring?
How do I communicate passion?
How do I communicate an idea?
How do I communicate disappointment?

Are you able to shut wrong things out, in order
to focus on the good things and recapture joy?

Are you able to focus on a problem, and eliminate everything
else in your life, and just focus on that problem until answers
and questions come together?

What is my time with the Holy Spirit going to produce for me?

If I have a place for my car (the garage) then why
wouldn’t I (first) also have a place to meet with the Holy Spirit?

Where Do I want to excel in excellence?

What is the one thing God’s told me to do with my life?

What’s A? What’s B? What’s C, D, E, F? And so on.

Determine whether the focus comes from the Holy Spirit, or from a distraction…?

What would be the result if I give myself totally to this focus?
What would be the possible return?

Ask the Holy Spirit: where do You want me to focus?

What’s the most important thing to your focus?

Do you know how to talk yourself into a proper focus?

What do I love?

_

Leave a Reply

